ZEN BUDDHA | The Buddha Teachings extra briefly explained by Zen Buddha

ZEN BUDDHA | The Buddha Teachings extra briefly explained by Zen Buddha

Home | Fortune teller | Laughing buddha | Zen tarot | E-book | Book excercises | Dharma wheel | Meditation | Teachings

The Buddhist Teachings briefly explained by Zen Buddha

Click here for a longer explanation

What is Buddhism?

Buddhism expresses the profound wish to contribute to a happier world. A world in which more love is shared amongst all living beings. Where people live in Harmony and Compassion by showing mutual respect. The Buddhist teachings say that the solutions to our problems are from within. Buddhism teaches that you have to take responsibility for your actions and understanding.

Who was the Buddha?

Siddhartha Gautama was regarded as the first enlightened being a 'Buddha'. After a luxurious life as a prince he discovered that a lot of Suffering existed in the world. This made him strive to overcome ageing, sickness, and death by living the life of an aesthetic. After a long and focused Meditation Siddhartha attained Enlightenment at the age of 35. For the rest of his life he taught the Buddhist teachings.

What does the 'awakening' of Gautama Buddha mean?

According to the Buddhist teachings Nirvana is a state of mind that is completely free from any egotistical mind states such as ignorance, greed, hatred, desire, craving and so forth. The enlightened one sees all as it really is, not as we wish to see them. It is a feeling of complete calmness and from this state of mind being able to observe everything that exists as the ultimate observer.

What are the four Noble truths described in the Buddhist Teachings?

The first noble truth is that suffering exists.

The second Noble Truth. Where does all the suffering come from?

The Buddhist teachings explain that the second noble truth focuses on the origin of suffering. According to Buddha the suffering is caused by craving and aversion.

The third Noble Truth. How does suffering end?

The third noble truth namely the cessation of suffering states that it is possible to end suffering. It is the ending of all the unsatisfactory experiences and their causes. It also focuses on the not arising of these experiences. When a form of suffering ceases a temporary state of Enlightenment may occur with the practitioner.

The fourth Noble Truth. What is needed according to the Buddha Teachings?

This is explained in the fourth noble truth 'the path to the cessation of suffering' also known as The Noble Eightfold Path. The Noble Eightfold path is considered as the essence of the Buddhist Teachings. Learn more about Buddha's Noble Eightfold path. By active practice (Meditation) and adherence to Buddha's Noble Eightfold Path one attains Enlightenment.

What does a Moral life look like according to the Buddha?

The Buddhist teachings has five rules of moral conduct that one should adhere to. These are called the Five Precepts. A Buddhist practitioner vows to:

  • Refrain from killing any sentient beings
  • Refrain from taking what is not given
  • Refrain from sexual misconduct
  • Refrain from false speech
  • Refrain from using substances that intoxicate the mind
Home Back to teachings